For Immediate Release
July 9, 2018
Karen E. T. Garrett
Chief of Communications & Marketing
(202) 585-4313

2018 International Young Scholars Workshop Provides Scholarly Exchange for Young Researchers

Washington, D.C. – The American Society for Public Administration (ASPA) is pleased to announce the 14 doctoral students, graduates and new professors it has selected as the 2018 class of young scholars who will attend and participate in the 7th International Young Scholars Workshop in Michoacán, Mexico on August 12-16.

This year’s workshop will be hosted in partnership with the Centro de Cooperación Regional para la Educación de Adultos en América Latina y El Caribe (CREFAL) and in cooperation with the Centro de Investigación y Docencia Económicas (CIDE).

“This year’s class of young scholars represent the future of public policy and administration scholarship, grounded in rigorous, tested research and applicable to academicians and practitioners alike,” ASPA Executive Director Bill Shields said. “This experience will provide them with the opportunity to broaden their networks and elevate public administration scholarship.”

The members of the 2018 class of Young Scholars are:
  • Atal Ahmadzai, Rutgers University
  • Everardo Chiapa Aguillón, Centro de Investigacion y Docencia Economicas (CIDE)
  • Ana-Maria Dimand, Florida International University
  • Ying Jiang, Arizona State University
  • Juniper Katz, University of Colorado Denver
  • Jose Manuel Heredia Gonzalez, Centro de Investigacion y Docencia Economicas (CIDE)
  • Jennifer Martinez, Portland State University
  • Dhara Minesh Amin, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Alex Osei-Kojo, University of Colorado Denver
  • Iljoo Park, Korea University
  • Abdul Samad, Florida International University
  • Nathan Teklemariam, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Shilpa Viswanath, Rutgers University
  • Yiwei Yu, Nanjing University, China; Indiana University
  • Hong Zhang, Lanzhou University, China; Indiana University

Senior Scholars accompanying the group are David Ammons (University of North Carolina—Chapel Hill), Maria Aristigueta (University of Delaware), R. Paul Battaglio (University of Texas at Dallas), Sam Brown (Wichita State University) and Patria de Lancer Julnes (Penn State Harrisburg). Also in attendance will be ASPA executive director William Shields and organizing committee members Galia Cohen (University of Texas at Dallas), Edgar Ramirez de la Cruz (CIDE), Andrea Headley (University of California—Berkeley), Antonio Pena (CREFAL), Kendra Stewart (College of Charleston) and Eduardo Villarreal (CIDE).

“Each Young Scholars class conducts remarkable research that goes on to have a considerable impact within public administration,” Shields said. “We look forward to watching how their research and experience on the ground in Mexico changes our understanding of public administration around the world, increases our Society’s reach and enhances the knowledge base that is already so dominant within our ranks.”


About the American Society for Public Administration:
ASPA is the leading interdisciplinary public service organization that advances the art, science, teaching and practice of public and nonprofit administration.