Students are encouraged to get involved with their local ASPA Chapters. ASPA Chapters provide a unique opportunity to meet key figures in the local public service community and expand your network. Membership in a local Chapter is included with your ASPA membership.

In addition, ASPA’s Sections offer in-depth exposure to the issues that matter most in public service. ASPA also offers quality programming for new professionals at national and regional conferences.


The Young Scholars Workshop provides new scholars working in public policy, public administration and related fields with an academically rigorous platform for the presentation of research, scholarly exchange and social networking. The workshop is sponsored by ASPA and a host university. More information on the next workshop will be available in Spring 2016.


ASPA’s signature program for students is the Founders’ Fellows Program. The program supports participation of 25 students at the Annual Conference and their development as future public administrators. Fellows receive complimentary registration to the Annual Conference, complimentary special event tickets and complimentary board at the conference hotel. They are given the opportunity to present at the conference, network with others in public administration and to mentor with an academic or practitioner in the field they plan on entering upon graduation. To complete an online application, please click here.


Congratulations to the 25 students who were selected as Founders' Fellows in 2015. These students will present research at the Annual Conference in Chicago and will be mentored by seasoned practitioners within ASPA.

Founders' Fellowships recognize outstanding students and new professionals in the field. Following a competitive review process, the Founders’ Fellows are selected to present their scholarship during the ASPA conference. They receive substantial professional development and networking opportunities, including mentoring by a seasoned scholar or practitioner. The 2015 ASPA Founders Fellows include an impressive group of 25 awardees from 15 states and three countries.

Claudia C. Caruso, University of Delaware

Noam Cohen, University of Haifa, Israel

Joseph B. Deegan, Indiana University

Stephanie D. Dolamore, University of Baltimore

Peter Stanley Federman, John Jay College of Criminal Justice, CUNY

Clare J. FitzGerald, North Carolina State University

Amir Hefetz, University of Haifa, Israel

Alison Jenifer Holt, Wayne State University

Andrea J. Huston, Walden University

Mirit Kisner, University of Haifa, Israel

Angela Kline, University of Delaware

George C. Labonte, Roger Williams University

Samantha June Larson, University of Colorado - Denver

Seema Mahato, Ohio University

Nadeen Makhlouf, American University

Denzel Maxwell, Texas Tech University

Eleanor Keeton, Nowak Virginia Commonwealth University

Arlena Nwosu, North Carolina Central University

Abdul Samad, Western Kentucky University

Mona Hafeez Siddiqui, Virginia Commonwealth University

Ranjeet Singh, Panjab University, Chandigarh

Ammar Suria, Lahore University of Management Sciences (LUMS-Pakistan)

William L. Swann, Florida State University

Michele Tantardini,  Florida International University

Kimberly K. Wiley, Florida State University


To read the 2014 Founders' Fellows research, click here.

To read the 2013 Founders' Forum Fellows research, click here.





ASPA’s Section for Women in Public Administration (SWPA) annually awards up to three $500.00 scholarships to students at the PhD or Master’s level or a Practitioner to help defray the costs associated with attending the ASPA Annual Conference. In addition to completing and submitting the SWPA Scholarship Application form, applicants must also submit a cover letter, vita or resume, and two letters of nomination/recommendation from relevant faculty, supervisors/managers, or ASPA chapter or section officers. Application period is now closed.






The Walter W. Mode Scholarship is awarded out of a special fund named in honor of Walter W. Mode, the 30th National President of ASPA, with a distinguished record of public service at the federal and international levels. A $1,500 scholarship (when funds are available) is given each year for graduate study in public administration to a student who is an ASPA member and who demonstrates a commitment to a career in the public service. This scholarship is managed by the ASPA Endowment, Inc.